The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

So I loved the characters but wish the story/ plot was more interesting. Molly and her twin sister Cassie and their friends and family are interesting and people that I wish were in my life. But it took me a month to read this book since I am not into teen romance and the story was just not holding my interest. Molly is the “fat” girl out of her group of friends and the only one that has not “gone all the way” or even dated one of her crushes before so she feels left out in her friends’ discussions and socially behind everyone else. When she has two crushes possibly about to become something more, she is socially awkward and tetters on possibly losing them both. The story takes forever to build but the characters personalities kept me reading. I loved Molly’s craftiness and her parents’ quirkiness about certain things and Reid’s (Molly’s crush) geekiness. I wanted to love this book especially since it was from Owlcrate and everyone else seemed to love it but it was not for me. I wish that this book covered some other topic or had a different focus but it is a teen romance so if that is your genre, you will love it.

I gave this book 3 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

