Columbine by Dave Cullen

The Columbine shooting was one of the defining moments in the American history and a turning point in the way schools handled school bullying and student safety. This happened my freshman year of high school and I remember how this scared so many people. I even had a science teacher have class discussion on what we should do if we had a shooting at our school and we were in his classroom. Reading this book opened my eyes to all the misinformation coming out at the time of the shootings and after. I felt sorry for the shooters at the time because I thought they were bullied and snapped. I did not realize until I read this book how racist and hateful the shooters were against people who were not even bullying them. I do believe bullying did play a part in their mental state even though this book downplays it but I think mental illness and poor coping skills especially when dealing with the consequences of their theft arrest played a bigger part now that I read this book. I thought this book was an eye-opener and had a lot of facts and information that was not publicized at the time.

I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

