Dead Letters by Caite Dolan-Leach

This book threw me through a loop. I thought I knew where it was going and I was totally wrong. Ava and Zelda are twins who seem to feed off each other in an unhealthy way and also support each other in while growing up a broken home with alcoholic, psychological abusive parents. They have a falling out over a boyfriend and Ava escapes to France to go to graduate school and build her own life. The sudden death of her sister Zelda in a suspicious fire brings her home to her families’ failing winery/farm and back into Zelda’s manipulative games. As Ava unravels the clues her sister left her, she learns her sister’s secrets and hidden life and is left wondering, is her sister still manipulating her beyond the grave or is she still alive?

I found that I disliked most of the characters in this book since they seemed selfish and destructive to others and themselves a lot of the time but the mystery of Zelda’s death pushed me through the story. There were so many moments where I wanted Ava just to run back to France and stop being manipulated by her sister but it also built the tension that got me through the book. It may not be for everyone but I enjoyed reading it and would recommend mystery and psychological thriller fans to give it a try.

I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

I received a advanced readers copy of this book from NetGalley for review consideration.

Leave a Reply

