P.S. I Like You by Kasie West

So I usually avoid teen romance book because they usually make me simultaneously want to hid in embarrassment and vomit. But the penpal bit on the book description and personal note from the author in the Owlcrate box intrigued me so I gave this book a try and I am glad I did.

The main character, Lily, is constantly writing song lyrics in her journal but doesn’t think they are good enough to share with anyone yet. She also plays the guitar and listens to some lesser known bands. She is a loner for the most part except for her one best friend who, unfortunately has bad taste in guys and is sometimes forced to hang out with them too. One day Lily gets her journal confiscated in chemistry so she writes some of her favorite band’s lyrics on the chemistry class’s desk. The next day she see someone has written the next line of the song on the desk. This leads to her to start writing notes to this secret penpal and they start sharing things about themselves. She slowly starts to fall in love with this penpal but some of the mean girls in high school start to get curious about what she is doing on chemistry and start to interfer with their communication line. She desperately wants to know who the letter writer is but is afraid to be disappointed or have her heart broken if it is not all what it seems.

Since this was sort of set like a mystery, I was drawn in by wanting to find out the mysterious author of the notes but I got attached to the characters too since they were so relatable. This was not a “gag me” romance so I could handle that aspect of the book. I was pleasantly surprised by this book and did end up liking it despite my earlier misgivings.

I gave this a 4 out of 5 on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

