The Princess Saves Herself in This One by Amanda Lovelace

The title was cool so I decided to give it a try. It was a poetry book so very short (read in 30 minutes) and did the usual young adult girl sterotypes: fat girl bullied and starving herself, cutting herself, feeling that she is different, first boyfriend lit’s and cheats on her, second boyfriend is much better, fixing yourself through self-love and self-respect. Death also brought in. I found some of what she said catchy like it could be a Twitter update or meme but I do not consider that poetry and neither is this in my opnion.  I thought this was overall very cliche.  I gave this three stars since just because this did not appeal to me doesn’t mean it would not appeal and touch others and I think overall the book was okay.

I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley for review consideration.

Leave a Reply

