Burning Bright by Nicholas Petrie

Conspiracy-theory, fugitive from the law, car chase books aren’t my usual choice of reading material but I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The plot pulls you in immediately with June getting kidnapped and then escaping shortly after her mother, government contractor working on a top secret tech project, get killed in a hit and run “accident.” June hides in an old research facility in some redwoods in the middle of nowhere when a “shell-shocked” war veteran named Peter stumbles across her while trying to escape from a bear. It was love at first sight for Peter and he offers June his protection. Together they go on the run, trying to figure out who is after June and why. Their quick wit and banter make them entertaining and enduring. I would definitely recommend. This is the second book in the series but I did not read the first and I do not feel like I missed anything.

I gave this 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

I received an advanced copy of this book from Penguin’s First to Read Program with no requirement to review book.

Leave a Reply

