This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

I actually liked this universe more than I liked the Darker Shade of Magic universe. To me, it was easier to understand– monsters versus multiple worlds with lots of rules. And I found that this was more of a dystopian and mystery/thriller novel which is two of my favorite genres. I felt like I could relate to Kate and August, both the children of rival leaders of the split city of Verity. Kate Harker wants to prove to her father she is exactly like him– ruthless, charismatic, and powerful– so she gets kicked out of one boarding school after another so that she can be with him. August is one of the monsters of Verity who has been adopted by the Flynn family, along with other monsters, is used to help protect the city from other monsters and itself. When August is sent on a mission to follow and gather intel on Kate Harker at her new school, he ends up sort of befriending her and starts to question their families and how Verity got the way it is. I loved both characters for their vulnerability and their strength and the way they decide to make their own destiny.

I gave this 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

