How to Hang a Witch by Adriana Mather

Spooky. Paranormal. Angsty. I should have read this around Halloween but still read in 2 days (probably would have read in one if not Thanksgiving/family time). Samantha Mather moves to Salem from NYC due to her family’s financial situation after her father goes into a mysterious coma. Weird, slightly sinister things seem to have been happening to people around Sam for as long as she remembers and just get worse in Salem. The mystery of the Mathers and the Descendants curse kept me turning the pages. There was the perfect mix of witches, ghosts, premonition, and history/folklore. I loved all the history and back stories that seemed to tie in at the end. I liked that an actual descendant of Cotton Mather actually wrote this book and I felt that she captured the feel of Salem perfectly. I felt like the love triangle didn’t need to be there and Sam should have not shut people out/kept quiet about all the weird things happening to her especially at the beginning. Overall, I liked that the moral of the story for the witch trials and modern day bullying were connected at the end and made me think about causes of each and how to prevent both.

I gave this 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

